KNVB Beker (Dutch Cup)
FIFA Region


The 2020-2021 KNVB Beker (NEDCUP1) is the most prestigious football club tournament in the Netherlands. A total of 60 professional and amateur teams will participate in the main tournament. The Final will be held on 18 April 2021 at De Kuip (Rotterdam). The winner of the 2020-2021 NEDCUP1 receives a berth in the Playoff Round of the 2021-2022 UEFA Europa League. Ajax Amsterdam (NED1) is the defending NEDCUP1 champion.

All rounds/matches are "Knockout" matches. If a match is still tied after regulation time, two 15-minute extra time periods are played. If still tied after extra time, the teams go directly to a penalty shoot-out.

Due to COVID-19, all amatuer teams were disqualified in the 1st Round from further participation in the 2020-2021 KNVB Beker and 9 teams were given byes in the 2nd Round and advanced directly to the Round of 16. The teams given byes were ADO Den Haag (NED1), AZ Alkmaar (NED1), Feyenoord (NED1), Fortuna Sittard (NED1), Heerenveen (NED1), SC Heracles Amelo (NED1), MVV Maastricht (NED2), NEC Nijmegen (NED2), and FC Volendam (NED2).

More Info...

Leagues Pyramid - Netherlands

Abbrev League # Teams
NED1 Eredivisie 18
NED2 Eerste Divisie
(Kueken Kampioen Divisie)
NED3 Tweede Divisie 18
NED4 Derde Divisie 36
NED5 Hoofdklasse 64
NED6 Eerste Klasse 154
NED7 Tweede Klasse 308

Competition Structure

Stage# TeamsNew Teams Entering This RoundTeams From Previous RoundFormat
1st Preliminary Round6024 district cup winners, 36 NED4 teamsNone30 Knockout matches
2nd Preliminary Round4010 NED3 teams30 winners from First Preliminary Round20 Knockout matches
1st Round5614 NED1 teams, 20 NED2 teams, 2 NED3 teams receiving 2nd Preliminary Round bye20 winners from Second Preliminary Round28 Knockout matches
2nd Round324 NED1 teams that were playing in UEFA Champions and Europa Leagues28 winners from 1st Round16 Knockout matches
Round of 1616None16 winners from 2nd Round8 Knockout matches
Quarterfinals8None8 winners from Round of 164 Knockout matches
Semifinals4None4 winners from Quarterfinals2 Knockout matches
Final2None2 winners from Semifinals1 Knockout match played at a neutral site


DateHome Status RoadVenue
Sun - 18 Apr 2021
 Ajax Amsterdam (NED1) 21 Vitesse Arnhem (NED1)Stadion Feijenoord


DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 2 Mar 2021
 Vitesse Arnhem (NED1) 20 vvv-Venlo (NED1)Gelredome
Wed - 3 Mar 2021
 Heerenveen (NED1) 03 Ajax Amsterdam (NED1)Abe Lenstra Stadion


DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 9 Feb 2021
 Excelsior (NED2) 01 Vitesse Arnhem (NED1)Van Donge & De Roo Stadion
Wed - 10 Feb 2021
 Ajax Amsterdam (NED1) 21 PSV Eindhoven (NED1)Johan Cruijff ArenA
Wed - 17 Feb 2021
 NEC Nijmegen (NED2) 12 vvv-Venlo (NED1)Stadion de Goffert
 Heerenveen (NED1) 43 Feyenoord (NED1)Abe Lenstra Stadion

Round of 16

DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 19 Jan 2021
 MVV Maastricht (NED2) 22 Excelsior (NED2)De Geusselt
 Excelsior advances on PKs (5-4) 
 Vitesse Arnhem (NED1) 21 ADO Den Haag (NED1)Gelredome
 FC Volendam (NED2) 02 PSV Eindhoven (NED1)Kras Stadion
Wed - 20 Jan 2021
 FC Emmen (NED1) 12 Heerenveen (NED1)De Oude Meerdijk
 Feyenoord (NED1) 32 SC Heracles Almelo (NED1)Stadion Feijenoord
 AZ Alkmaar (NED1) 01 Ajax Amsterdam (NED1)AFAS Stadion
Thu - 21 Jan 2021
 NEC Nijmegen (NED2) 32 Fortuna Sittard (NED1)Stadion de Goffert
 vvv-Venlo (NED1) 10 Go Ahead Eagles (NED2)Covebo Stadion - De Koel

2nd Round

DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 15 Dec 2020
 Excelsior (NED2) 20 PEC Zwolle (NED1)Van Donge & De Roo Stadion
 FC Emmen (NED1) 21 FC Groningen (NED1)De Oude Meerdijk
Wed - 16 Dec 2020
 Almere City FC (NED2) 14 vvv-Venlo (NED1)Yanmar Stadion
 De Graafschap (NED2) 12 PSV Eindhoven (NED1)De Vijverberg
 Ajax Amsterdam (NED1) 54 FC Utrecht (NED1)Johan Cruijff ArenA
Thu - 17 Dec 2020
 SC Cambuur (NED2) 12 Go Ahead Eagles (NED2)Cambuur Stadion
 Willem II Tilburg (NED1) 02 Vitesse Arnhem (NED1)Willem II Stadion

1st Round

DateHome Status RoadVenue
Mon - 26 Oct 2020
 Excelsior (NED2) 40 Helmond Sport (NED2)Van Donge & De Roo Stadion
 Go Ahead Eagles (NED2) 60 NAC Breda (NED2)De Adelaarshorst
Tue - 27 Oct 2020
 Twente Enschede (NED1) 13 De Graafschap (NED2)De Grolsch Veste
 vvv-Venlo (NED1) 42 FC Den Bosch (NED2)Covebo Stadion - De Koel
 Heerenveen (NED1) 31 FC Oss (NED2)Abe Lenstra Stadion
 FC Dordrecht (NED2) 24 FC Utrecht (NED1)Riwal Hoogwerkers Stadion
Wed - 28 Oct 2020
 ADO Den Haag (NED1) 11 Sparta Rotterdam (NED1)Cars Jeans Stadion
 ADO Den Haag advances on PKs (5-3) 
 FC Emmen (NED1) 20 FC Eindoven (NED2)De Oude Meerdijk
 SC Heracles Almelo (NED1) 30 SC Telstar (NED2)Stadion Erve Asito
 RKC Waalwijk (NED1) 22 SC Cambuur (NED2)Mandemakers Stadion
 SC Cambuur advances on PKs (5-3) 
 Roda JC Kerkrade (NED2) 02 Fortuna Sittard (NED1)Parkstad Limburg Stadion
Tue - 1 Dec 2020
 SVV Scheveningen (NED3) CANC Almere City FC (NED2)Sportpark Houtrust
 Rijnsburgse Boys (NED3) CANC Excelsior Maassluis (NED3)Sportpark Middelmors
 BVV Barendrecht (NED4) CANC vv Achilles Veen (NED5)Sportpark De Bongerd
 OFC Oostzaan (NED4) CANC MVV Maastricht (NED2)Sportpark OFC
 HSV ODIN '59 (NED4) CANC FC Volendam (NED2)Sportpark Assumburg
 vv Sliedrecht (NED6) CANC vv Ijsselmeervogels (NED3)De Lockhorst
 vv Staphorst (NED4) CANC PEC Zwolle (NED1)Sportpark Het Noorderslag
 DTS Ede (NED6) CANC kvv Quick Boys (NED3)Sportpark Inschoten
Wed - 2 Dec 2020
 HV & CV Quick (NED4) CANC NEC Nijmegen (NED2)Sportpark Nieuw Hanenburg
 DVS '33 Ermelo (NED4) CANC Willem II Tilburg (NED1)Sportpark Zuid DVS '33
 Tec VV (NED3) CANC FC Groningen (NED1)Sportpark De Lok
 vv Capelle (NED5) CANC Amsterdamsche FC (NED3)Sportpark 't Slot
 Kozakken Boys (NED3) CANC Harkemase Boys (NED4)Sportpark De Zwaaier
 HHC Hardenberg (NED3) CANC Vitesse Arnhem (NED1)Sportpark De Boshoek
 SV OSS '20 (NED4) CANC vv Katwijk (NED3)Sportpark De Rusheuvel
 RKVV Westlandia (NED4) CANC vv SteDoCo (NED4)Sportpark de Hoge Bomen
 vv UNA (NED4) CANC RKSV Groene Ster (NED4)Sportpark Zeelst