National Premier League
FIFA Region


The National Premier League (JAM1) is the top league in the Jamaica football league system. At the end of the 2022 season, the JAM1 teams listed below qualify for the following non-league play:

  • 2023 Caribbean Club Championship:
    • 1st and 2nd place 2022 JAM1 Championship teams

(The winner of the 2023 Caribbean Club Championship receives a berth in 2024 CONCACAF Champions League, and the 2nd and 3rd place 2023 Caribbean Club Championship teams receives berths in the 2023 CONCACAF League.)

Leagues Pyramid - Jamaica

Abbrev League # of Teams
JAM1 National Premier League 12
JAM2A KSAFA Super League 12
JAM2B Eastern Confederation Super League 10
JAM2C South Central Confederation Super League 12
JAM2D Western Confederation Super League 12
JAM3A KSAFA Major League 12

Competition Structure


# of Teams

15 Jan 2022 - 13 Jun 2022  12: JAM1 (12), JAM2 (0)

Season Format

Each JAM1 team plays matches with the other 11 JAM1 teams once for a total of 11 league matches in the Preliminary Round. After the Preliminary Round, the top 6 teams advance to the Semi-Finals and the bottom 6 teams play each other once to determine final table ranking. Table ranking ties are broken by (1) goal difference, then (2) total goals scored.


At the end of the 2022 JAM1 season, the 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th place JAM1 teams enter into the Home-Away highest aggregate goals wins Championship Quarterfinals. The two quarterfinal winners then play against the JAM1 1st and 2nd place teams in the Home-Away highest aggregate goals wins Championship Semifinals. The two semifinals winners then meet in the one match Championship Final.


At the end of the 2022 JAM1 season, the 11th and 12th place teams will be relegated directly to one of the JAM2 leagues.

About Soccer-tainment.comPrivacy policyDisclaimerTerms & Conditions