New Zealand Football Championship
FIFA Region
OFC
Season
2020-2021
Location
New Zealand
Abbreviation
NZL1

Summary

The New Zealand Football Championship (NZL1) is the top league in the New Zealand football league system. At the end of the 2020-2021 season, the NZL1 teams listed below qualify for the following non-league play:

  • 2022 OFC Champions League - Group Stage:
    • 2020-2021 NZL1 Championship champion
    • 1st place 2020-2021 NZL1 Championship Regular Season team

Leagues Pyramid - New Zealand

Abbrev League # of Teams
NZL1 New Zealand Football Championship 8

Competition Structure

Season

# of Teams

13 Nov 2020 - 28 Feb 2021  8: NZL1 (8)

Season Format

Each NZL1 team plays Home-Away matches with the other 7 NZL1 teams for a total of 14 league matches per team. Table ranking ties are broken by (1) goal difference, then (2) total goals scored.

Playoffs

Not applicable.

Relegation

Not applicable.


More Info...


 LeagueHomeRoad
POSMPW - D - LPTSCPTSGFGAGDMPW - D - LPTSGFGAGDMPW - D - LPTSGFGAGD
1Team Wellington FC 94 -5-017-1912743 -1-010126651 -4-07761
2Auckland City FC 95 -2-217-159644 -0-01293651 -2-25660
3Eastern Suburbs AFC 93 -3-312-1410451 -3-1687142 -0-26633
4Hamilton Wanderers AFC 93 -3-312-1413151 -2-2568-242 -1-17853
5Canterbury United FC 93 -2-411-1317-442 -0-2647-351 -2-25910-1
6Hawke's Bay United FC 93 -1-510-1217-541 -1-2448-452 -0-3689-1
7Wellington Phoenix FC Reserves 92 -3-49-1318-551 -2-2557-241 -1-24811-3
8Waitakere United 91 -5-38-1418-450 -3-23713-641 -2-15752
Semifinals & 2022 OFCCL
Semifinals

Fixtures

Fri - 29 Jan 2021
 Team Wellington FC   Waitakere UnitedDavid Farrington Park
Sat - 30 Jan 2021
 Hamilton Wanderers AFC   Canterbury United FCPorritt Athletics Stadium
Fri - 5 Feb 2021
Sat - 6 Feb 2021
Fri - 12 Feb 2021
 Team Wellington FC   Eastern Suburbs AFCDavid Farrington Park
Sat - 13 Feb 2021
 Hamilton Wanderers AFC   Waitakere UnitedPorritt Athletics Stadium
Fri - 19 Feb 2021
Sat - 20 Feb 2021
Fri - 26 Feb 2021
Sat - 27 Feb 2021

Results

Sat - 23 Jan 2021
 Hamilton Wanderers AFC 14 Hawke's Bay United FCPorritt Athletics Stadium
Fri - 22 Jan 2021
Sat - 16 Jan 2021
Fri - 15 Jan 2021
Sat - 9 Jan 2021
 Hamilton Wanderers AFC 11 Team Wellington FCPorritt Athletics Stadium
Fri - 8 Jan 2021
Sat - 19 Dec 2020
 Hamilton Wanderers AFC 12 Eastern Suburbs AFCPorritt Athletics Stadium
Fri - 18 Dec 2020
 Team Wellington FC 31 Canterbury United FCDavid Farrington Park
Sat - 12 Dec 2020
Fri - 11 Dec 2020